3 comments on “From Kidding to Skidding

  1. I have been, and continually am, on a simliiar journey, and I can imagine that most of humanity is. “Who am I?” Life is about coming to know what that means. He is calling us to Something bigger than ourselves, and leading, enlightening, illuminating, breath by breath. He is in His own, revealing who we are, in Him, together, day by day. We are not alone, we are not meant to be “me,” but “We.” Show us what that means, Creator…

  2. Hi Sarah,

    Thank you for sharing. It was good seeing you up there singing yesterday. I am very sorry for your pain and wish there was a way to take it away. The world may go on but I know the prayers of your church family for your family will continue . . . we all hurt with you 😦

    I too have struggled with my identity. What were my parents thinking when they named me, “Melanee (Melancholy) Joy?”

    I think you’re right that God allows these paradoxes and identity challenges so we will focus on who we are in Him and His strength which is made perfect in our weaknesses, and so when He does miracles we will know that it is Him and not us!! Here’s a Facebook post from a friend of mine in South Dakota which was really encouraging:

    The Lord said to Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh and say, ‘Will I really have a child when I am old?’ Is anything impossible for the Lord?”

    The Lord answered Jeremiah. “I am the Lord, the God of all humankind. There is, indeed, nothing too difficult for me.”

    The angel said, “And look, your relative Elizabeth has also become pregnant with a son in her old age – although she was called barren, she is …now in her sixth month! For nothing will be impossible with God.”

    Jesus said, “It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich person to enter the kingdom of God.” They were even more astonished and said to one another, “Then who can be saved?” Jesus looked at them and replied, “This is impossible for mere humans, but not for God; all things are possible for God.”

    HE IS MORE THAN ABLE. 🙂

  3. Beautiful, Sarah. So vulnerable. I can say first hand that God has transformed you slowly over these last few years and quickly over these last few months. I knew you were in there and I knew God would reveal it, I just wish it wasn’t this difficult. Love you friend.

Leave a Reply

